Chapter History

The Chattanooga Chapter of the American Society of Safety Professionals has been serving the area safety professional for more than fifty years. The chapter organized on September 20, 1957 and is dedicated to promoting the advancement of the safety profession and safety professionals in the area served.  The chapter holds at least 4 technical meetings annually, actively participates in local philanthropies, and offers valuable continuing education and networking opportunities for its membership.

The Chapter has made many other significant contributions to the Chattanooga area during its fifty year history. Some of those accomplishments include:

  • Participating as safety inspectors at the local science fair
  • Providing instructors in many fields for the Chattanooga State Technical Community College
  • Providing assistance to the Tennessee Safety Council
  • Providing equipment to the Tennessee Safety Council
  • Serving on the city and county emergency aid teams
  • Providing safety devices to various community groups
  • Providing scholarship funding for CSTCC students
  • Assisting CSTCC in the development of a two year Associate Degree in Safety and Occupational health
  • Providing safety and health information to businesses through various seminars
  • Assisting all safety professionals in the pursuit of their profession certifications (CPS and ASP)
  • Providing members with the opportunity to expand their safety knowledge through tours of industries in the area


The Chapter currently covers a geographical area consisting of eight counties in Tennessee, thirteen counties in Georgia and three counties in North Carolina. Our members come from a varied background and offer a wide range of experience and knowledge to all members and prospective members. In order to accommodate member’s needs, the chapter has had numerous meeting locations over the past forty-five years.

Notable Past Presidents: Sam Sharp, a safety professional at a Tennessee Copper Company was elected at the first president. In 1961, Sam was elected as a Safety Fellow. He is the only local member to hold this distinction.  Jack Wright, now retired from McKee Baking Company, served during the years of 1975-76 and 1989-90. David Brooks who was a safety profession at Mueller and later with the Electric Power Board served during 1984-85 and again during 1994-95. Kim Shamblin, S&H Specialist with Kenco Management Services served her first term during 2011-2013 and 2013-2015.